Rorschach’s Psychedelic

Rorschach inkblot test

The Rorschach inkblot test is a method of psychological evaluation. Psychologists use this test to try to examine the personality characteristics and emotional functioning of their patients. The Rorschach is currently the second most commonly used test in forensic assessment, after the MMPI, and has been employed in diagnosing underlying thought disorder and differentiating psychotic from nonpsychotic thinking in cases where the patient is reluctant to openly admit to psychotic thinking.

—I really need to take this test. I [think] I’m bordering schizo.

[Source: Wikipedia – Rorschach inkblot test]

Rorschach (comics)

Rorschach is a fictional character in the comic book series, Watchmen, written by Alan Moore with art by Dave Gibbons and published by DC Comics. The character was derived from The Question, created by Steve Ditko. His real name, Walter Kovacs, is a reference by Alan Moore to Steve Ditko’s characters whose real names often possessed the letter “K”.

—This is one of my favourite scene in Alan Moore’s Watchmen:

In 1975, Rorschach was searching for a kidnapped child and found her captor’s vacant hideout. A cursory inspection revealed, to his horror, that the girl had been murdered, butchered, and fed to two German Shepherd dogs. In the face of this atrocity, Kovacs’ mind snapped and assumed the mental identity of Rorschach as a separate personality. He killed the dogs with a meat cleaver and waited for the kidnapper. When the man returned, he wordlessly chained him to a pipe, ignoring his claims of innocence (the man telling Rorschach: “you can’t prove anything, there’s no evidence”, suggesting that he fed the girl to the dogs to get rid of the ‘evidence’), then placed a hacksaw near him and set the house on fire. Finally speaking, he told the terrified man that he would not have time to cut through his restraints before the fire killed him (implying that he would have to sever his own arm to escape). Kovacs calmly watched the structure burn from across the street; the suspected kidnapper did not emerge. In a much-later interview with a psychologist, Kovacs explicitly mentions the incident as the point after which he became “Rorschach, who sometimes pretends to be Kovacs”; before that, he claims, he was only “Kovacs pretending to be Rorschach.” He no longer refers to his “mask”; now he only calls the mask his “face”.

[Source: Wikipedia – Rorschach (comics)]

+++

Artist: Gnarls Barkley
Title: Crazy
Album: St. Elsewhere
Year: 2006

I remember when
I remember
I remember when I lost my mind
There was something so pleasant about that face
Even your emotions had an echo
In so much space

Mmm…

And when you’re out there
Without care
Yeah, I was out of touch
But it wasn’t because I didn’t know enough
I just knew too much

Mmm…

Does that make me crazy
Does that make me crazy
Does that make me crazy
Possibly

An I hope that you are having the time of your life
But think twice
That’s my only advice

Mmm…

Come on now
Who do you
Who do you
Who do you
Who do you think you are
Ha ha ha
Bless your soul
You really think you’re in control

Well
I think you’re crazy
I think you’re crazy
I think you’re crazy
Just like me

My heroes had the heart
To live their lives out on the limb
An all I remember
Is thinking I wanna be like them

Mmm…

Ever since I was little
Ever since I was little it looked like fun
It was no coincidence I’ve come
And I can die when I’m done

But maybe I’m crazy
But maybe you’re crazy
Maybe we’re crazy
Probably

Aaah…ooooh…

Leave a Reply

